2024 Committee List, Chairpersons and Members

Altar Guild – Suzanne Smullin, Chairperson
The Altar Guild enhances the worship experience by preparing the Communion Elements, caring for the chancel paraments, creating visual reinforcement of the message, providing seasonal decoration and other creative activities.

Board of Christian Education – David Hengeveld, Chairperson
The Board of Christian Education (BOCE) administers the Christian Education ministry for children and adults. This includes Sunday School and Vacation Bible School.

Budget & Finance – Open, Chairperson
The Finance Committee manages the financial resources of the church, prepares an annual budget and assists the Stewardship Committee in raising awareness of our need to support God's church.

Building & Property – Tom Gable, Chairperson
The Property Committee is charged with the maintenance and upgrading of our physical buildings and surrounding grounds. 

Consistory – 
The Consistory is the governing body of the Congregation.  The Consistory consists of at least six (6) but no more than twelve (12) Elders and at least six (6) but no more than twelve (12) Deacons who are elected by the Congregation to serve three-year terms. The Consistory currently consists of eight (8) Elders and eight (8) Deacons. The Elders and Deacons are charged with overseeing and coordinating the ministry and mission of the church.

Decorating – Suzanne Smullin, Chairperson 

Eucharistic Ministry – Paul Knappenberger, Advisor 

Evangelism – Paul Knappenberger, Chairperson

Executive – Consistory Officers 

Fund Raising – Kim Ike, Coordinator
The Fund-Raising Committee plans and implements creative fund-raising activities to support the capital expenditures of the church.

Hospitality – Doris Trumbauer, Chairperson 

Insurance – OPEN, Chairperson 

Kitchen – Don Kaufman, Chairperson 

Lutheran & Reformed Cemetery – Glenn Deischer, Liaison 

Mission – Linda Roosa & Irene Kraft, Co-Chairpersons
Feeding the hungry, responding to natural disasters, caring for the needy and exploring ways to benefit the environment are just a sampling of the issues focused on by the mission committee of St. John’s. The committee organizes a variety of missions generously supported by St. John’s congregation throughout the year. They include helping homeless people in the Lehigh Valley, purchasing blankets for people in need around the world, making and filling school bags for children in other countries, supporting the Emmaus food bank, and providing materials to help young mothers and their newborns

Nominating Committee – Randy Kraft, Chairperson 

Office & Personnel – Craig Demmy, Chairperson; Karl Geschwindt

Security & Safety – Karl Geschwindt, Chairperson 

Special Gifts – OPEN, Chairperson 

Spiritual Council – Current Elders

Stewardship – Current Deacons 

Undershepherd Ministry – Nancy Wieder, Chairperson 

Website – Subcommittee of Evangelism Committee

Worship & Music – Suzanne Smullin